Reading Difficulties

I’m new to the forum and I’m wondering if anyone else is having the same difficulties with reading that I am having.

I was diagnosed with MAV about a year ago (the Hain/Cherchi Chicago clinic) and I basically can’t read at all without getting sick. I can do a couple of sentences; on my good days maybe even a paragraph or two. But anything beyond that triggers the vertigo in a major way. Looking through some of the past posts, I saw some issues with computer screens (which are definitely also a major issue for me) but I didn’t see much about this kind of trouble with reading in general. I have a lot of the other normal visual triggers as well (fast motion on the tv screen, movie credits, tile patterns, grocery aisles, a particular striped shirt my sister wears sometimes, etc., not to mention non-visual triggers like riding in a car or on a bus) but this one is by far the most debilitating for me because I’m a graduate student getting my doctorate and this is looking like the potential death of my academic career.

I’m finding a lot of ways to compensate (text-to-speech software, screenreader, touch-typing, I’m even looking into learning Braille) and I think I’ll eventually be able to learn how to make it work, but obviously it would be good to be able to solve the underlying MAV issues. We’ve been trying out various meds over the past year and so far there’s been real improvement in other important areas (no problems walking around and being able to go everywhere I want to go now) but they’ve done nothing when it comes to the reading and visual triggers. So has anyone else had this kind of version of the visual problem? Were there any particular medications that helped, or any suggestions about adaptive technology or resources that have helped compensate for the inability to read?

Hi,

Sorry to hear about your troubles. Although computer screens really bother me, reading does not.