Nortriptyline and Propranolol

Hello everyone
This is my first time posting. I have been a MAV sufferer for 25 years. That said however in and out of remission many times. Until 3 months ago I was nearly migraine and dizzy and off balance free for 4 years while taking 40 mg of nortriptyline. Unfortunately my resting heart rate was averaging 92 after many years on the meds. Although my cardiologist recommended staying on and adding a beta blocker I declined. Unfortunately 1 month after stopping my first silent migraine hit. Head pressure and rocking for weeks.
As a result I tried Effexor XR but it caused me to be so anxious. Therefore my cardiologist neuro and GP all thought it was a good plan to take the nor and a small does 5 mg 2x per day of propranolol.
I started the nor 3 weeks ago. I am on 20 mg which has helped with the head pressure but not the balance yet.
My question is my heart rate is still normal in the morning 76 but can elevate when moving around a lot. Itā€™s important to note the I am having a lot of anxiety and depression from the condition. Therefore take a small amount of Xanax 3x per day.
My question is did anyone try this cocktail to control the elevated heart rate. And if so did it help.
The nor was a life saver. I literally lived like my off Balance feeling and rocking and MAV never existed.
Also I was diagnosed by doctor Rauch and doctor Buchholz who wrote 123 heal your headache with MAV finally 10 years ago.
Looking for any input.
Lisa

1 Like

Is Nort known to cause elevated heart rate ? Or could you be attributing this to Nort as a mistake ? Asking as you were alright for 4 years.

Wait out the effexor and the anxiety will pass. Also you can do 20mg + 37.5 effexor if it helps the heart rate.

Hi