Nortriptyline and betahistine

Hi I’m new to this forum but would love some advice. I have been battling vestibular migraine now for four years and up till 4 weeks ago thought o had it under control.
After a very stressful year getting treatment for pre breast cancer l have developed full blown vestibular migraines again. Doctor has put me in 10mg Nortriptyline at my request as so far l haven’t tollerates any preventative medication also l have to take betahistine 8mg every day. At the moment I’m getting awful side effects and my balance and dizziness is off the scale. Was wondering if anyone has taken Nortriptyline and betahistine together. I’m determined not to give in this time and I’m also following strict diet John Hopkins. How long does it take for Nortriptyline to kick in. Any advice would be gratefully received.

Hi and welcome. Glad you could join us though sorry to hear your plight. You’ll find lots of info under the Welcome and Wiki sections including links to other favourite Dizziness websites. As no doubt you have realised stress is a big trigger for VM/MAV, and you’ve had a bit of that quite recently.

Noritriptyline is a drug regularly recommended and well established for treating MAV. Although an antidepressant it’s regularly used for migraine prevention. From what I’ve read you may see some improvement quite quickly, within a month maybe but it’s reckoned all preventatives can take up to four months to really kick in. You really need to hit an effective dose first however. No doubt your doctor should have given you some idea of the dose you need to try to reach. It’s usual practice to increase slowly over a period of time. Days or weeks depending on how sensitive you are. We have had one member here recently who achieved great success (in fact he’s now training as a neurologist) with 70mg Nori.