Newbie and worried about medication

Hi guys,
My name is Yasmeen, im a 21 year old female.
Im sure you get many of these posts or topics but I’ve been dealing with vertigo for almost a year now with no official diagnosis from any doctor ive seen (neurologist, ENT, endocrinologist). They’re all on the fence about BPPV, Meneire’s, vestibular neuritis. My last round of proper room spinning vertigo happened in December. The ENT asked about migraines and he prescribed amitryptiline. However, he didnt describe why, what it would do, or what he thinks I had (literally didnt even give me a diagnosis). So due to his poor communication skills I was worried about the medication and opted not to take it even though I collected my prescription. A month later here I am with this constant wobbly feeling, my head is all fogged up, I feel tired even though Ive slept 8 hrs (im not gonna bore you with symptoms you all seem to know so well).

Im a medical student and kept digging around until I got to vestibular migraines–which checked off every thing im feeling. I’ve always suffered from migraines as in the actual headache. Im assuming my ENT was thinking of MAV hence why the amitryptiline (i just wish he wouldve explained better). But basically, Im thinking of taking the medication but I wanted to ask the people who have been on it what theyve felt, the side affects, and if theyve helped or not? (dose is 10mg)

Thanks!

Yasmeen, welcome to the community and I’m very sorry you are experiencing this rubbish.

Very much doubt it’s Meniere’s as that is so very rare and not something that young adults generally get. Super doubtful. In any case that is pretty easy to distinguish - its very episodic and the vertigo attacks involve temporary deafness. In between attacks you are often (at least for first few years) completely fine.

Vestibular Neuritis is an old fashioned diagnosis and its Aetiology is under a lot of doubt. In any case it doesn’t last for more than a few weeks.