New Member - Vertigo Without Headache

Since I was pregnant with my first child, I’ve had bouts of vertigo generally one a month, but sometimes as frequently as every day. I have nystagmus, full rotational vergtio, and each episode usually lasts 3-5 minutes. Last week, however, I was spinning very severely for about 10 minutes - which is very frightening if you are alone and even worse if you have a 3 year old and a 9 month old. I ended up vomitting in front of my children, which I have never done before. I know that all of you understand how absolutely debilitating this can be.

I’ve been to a neurologist and an ENT over the past 3 years, had 2 MRIs, an ENG - my current diagnosis is Migraine Associated Vertigo. I’ve moved to a new city and have an appointment soon with a new neurologist who specializes in dizziness.

I’m currently nursing so any medication is out of the question for now, but I was hoping some of you might have some insights on what medication or other treatment has worked for you. I have virtually eliminated caffeine and bananas. I know that I’m more likely to have an episode if I am tired or stressed (which happened last week), but I have not really identified any other food triggers.

Hi, I’m Cami, I do not suffer from any of this, but my husband does. Verapamil seems to help my husband, and in regards to the vertigo, Meclazine is something that he took for a while when his vertigo was bad. It’s like Dramamine, (the off the shelf anti-dizziness, anti-nausea) but for some reason works a little better for him and doesn’t come with the drowsiness.
One thing I’ve noticed with my husband is he tends to get worse symptoms if he doesn’t eat any protein for lunch or sometime during the afternoon. He doesn’t really have food triggers other then sometimes coffee in the afternoon. Another suggestion might be to take short naps (if you are a stay at home mom) when your children do, this is something my husband has had to do before during his bad days.