I've been 'sailing' for nearly two years

Hi everyone,

I’ve been enduring this horrible illness for nearly two years after getting off a long haul flight - yep, like everyone else I have been diagnosed with vestibular migraine and/or MdDS. Symptoms include persistent 24/7 tilting vision (this is incredibly frustrating), internal rocking, visual vertigo, shimmering in my vision that lasts for seconds, bobbing head (like there’s a pendulum inside) and off balance when it’s dark. I have a history of migraine with aura (no headache), plus it’s in the family. I’m about to start propranolol SR 80mg and dreading the thought of developing side effects…

How’s everyone dealing with this? Has anyone had any good results with propranolol (or anything else), particularly with the visual symptoms??

Jen

Jen I stabilised the vision with 20mg nocte Amitriptyline. It’s taken me two and a half years since the original incident to come off meds. I have vision issues rarely now and if so usually late evening despite no meds. Sounds like you might have a fistula due to trauma. (same as me). It’s very unlikely to be menieres. They heal. Give it time.

Best, James

Hi James,

I may discuss with my doctor about Amitriptyline. This thing is driving me up the wall - typing this while watching the sentences go left to right…enough to drive you insane! :slight_smile:
Thanks for the tip!

Jen

1 Like

Be sure to report back on progress! Good luck!