Advice on pizotifen and anxiety

Hello All

I have been on the piz for just over 3 weeks now. I feel that my off balance sensation has improved slightly but I have a long way to go to get to 100 percent. However, for the past 3 days my anxiety levels are up the roof and I can’t seem to control them. I am having sleepless nights as my chest is tremoring heaps due to anxiety. I had this anxiety before I started the piz but then it went away. Now it has come back in full force and I feel like I have to pop a valium every 4 to 5 hours which controls the anxiety but of course it will get me addicted to it. Can anyone please advise on what I should do? I am thinking of adding an anti depressant to the piz to control my anxiety? I am fairly new to all this and still learning about the different types of drugs that are around. Scott has been of great help to me so far. But deep down inside I think I am losing it. In between I thought I had good days with the dizziness but they weren’t really good days. I just didn’t feel as anxious in those days hence I thought they were good days. Plz let me know everyone your thoughts?

Nabeel

Hi Nabeel,

I didn’t realise the anxiety had really gone through the roof like this. Is it of greater magnitude than what you were dealing with pre-pizotifen? It’s very possible that the pizotifen itself might be causing the increased anxiety. It’s times like this when it would be good to have the input of someone like Granot to guide you though this as he has the expert opinion on what might be the cause and how best to deal with it. I’d hate to see you throw the baby out with the bath water if this is unrelated to the piz.