Sandomigran has become less effective

Hi All,

I was diagnosed with Vestibular Migraine about 3 years ago. It took about 9 months to diagnose and I was dizzy 24/7, couldn’t drive, watch TV and found it hard to work, as I work in IT and am constantly staring at a computer screen.
My neurologist prescribed sandomigran, which was a miracle drug for me and within about 3 months I was back to my old self.
I started on 1 tablet and went up to 3 initially. my maintenance dose for the last 3 years has been 2 tablets.
Whenever I did long stressful weeks at work which would normally involve flying to another state, I would up my dose to 3 tablets for a few weeks, as I would always get break through migraines (which was mainly just dizziness, like I was on a boat) because of the stress and long hours.
I have been doing this for the last 3 years and it has worked great…until Christmas last year.

Just before Christmas I had a few killer weeks at work - no weekends and 80 hours a week for 2 weeks. Of course this resulted in my break through migraines, but as always I just upped it to 3 tablets assuming it would go back to normal in the next few weeks.
1 week later no different, 2, 3,4,5 weeks still no better. I upped it to 4 tablets in February this year and I am back to about 80-90 percent and in the last 2 weeks I am now on 5 tablets, still sitting at around 80 -90 percent.

The neurologist is now trying to move me on to Topamax, but I am apprehensive as this DID work so well for me for the last 3 years until now.

Has any one else had Sandomigran become less effective the longer they are on it??? I am not sure what has changed, I am have now cut out wheat,dairy, eggs, caffeine, alcohol… basically anyhting that is fun :lol: and still no major improvements.

Cheers

1 Like

Hey Dizzyrascal