MAV advice and support

Hi there,

I am new to all of this and would really appreciate some support right now if anyone can help.

I am still awaiting to go and see the neurologist but all symptoms that I have listed at the end of my post are pointing to MAV.

I have been to see my GP today who has provided me with amitriptyline and also ritazipin which should hopefully reduce the symptoms. I have suffered for 6/7 yrs and am only 27. I have found this to be a really debilitating disease and my current GP is the first doctor to actually give me a true diagnosis or potential in this case. After being told it’s possibly MAV I have had a little nosey and it does appear to me that this is correct.

I have had a really bad episode for the last 2 weeks and am so weak right now. All I seem to do is sleep. I’ve taken time away from work and seems that I may possibly lose my job. All the anxiety and fear I am feeling right now will of course not help me. I have completely lost my appetite recently it takes 5 mins to put on a pair of socks. It takes me 20 mins to do a 10 min walk. I am very stressed. I am just needing a little bit of support if possible?

My symtoms are as below
Nausea, loss of appetite, left sided weakness, left sided numbness, slurring, eyes constantly flicker, visual disturbances, loss of balance, neck pain, back pain and pressure behind my forehead.

Tinnitus i have had as well since I was 16, it used to be in both ears but now only lingers in my right. Luckily having it for 11 years means I am used to it. I am also partially deaf since birth and this will continue to progressively worsen as this is hearing loss.

As you can imagine this is very scary. I hope someone can help support me. Clearly I am falling apart at the seams lol.

Thanks.
Siobhan x

Hi Siobhan,